Introductions (guest post by Emily)

Greetings! I am Emily, Christian’s wife, and I’ve had the incredible privilege of being a part of this service learning trip thus far. I leave Friday, and I am dreading leaving this beautiful place and extraordinary group of people. We’ve been so busy experiencing amazing things we haven’t had much time to document it. I’ve taken it upon myself to assist with the documentation and share some of our experience. It’s difficult to put into words all the things we have seen and learned and even more difficult to do justice to the beautiful relationships that have been created since our arrival. I will let the pictures speak for themselves.

 But first, allow me to introduce our group:

This is Joe, our fearless leader/ Faculty Director:

Image

Christian, his amazing Student life Sidekick (I suppose I may be a bit bias…):

Image

Sherry, our I.T. Guru:

Image

Azizur, our Faculty Director next year, who graced us with his presence the first week:

Image

 

And the REMARKABLE GVSU Honors Students, in no particular order:

Tyler:

Image

 

 

Caroline:Image

 

 

Hannah:

Image

Damian:Image

Melissa:

Image

 

Nicole:Image

Ellie:

Image

 

 

Bailey:

Image

Carlos:

Image

Deqa:

Image

Ryan:

Image

 

Daina:

Image

Rebecca:

Image

 

 

What a fantastic group of people. Almost every night we debrief and talk about what we’ve learned and experienced throughout the day. 
As we learn about poverty, Ghanaian culture, and ourselves, our minds are continuously blown. The lives of these students are being changed this summer- it is a beautiful thing.Image

Image

Can you tell we’re having fun? This is going to be me Friday…

 

Image

 

More to come soon.

Leave a comment